Acoustic 150b

Rig talk.

Acoustic 150b

Postby Billhw13 » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:46 am

This past weekend, I was invited to play with a guy who was one of Albert King's keyboard players. In his music room, he pointed to an old Acoustic amp and told me that I was to be playing thru one of Alberts old amps. Cool! I've never used an Acoustic before, but kinda enjoyed playing the 78 P thru this thing...volume, bass, and treble knobs..that's it! and it sounded good!
Anyone using the new acoustic stuff?
Billhw13

Re: Acoustic 150b

Postby steveonbass » Mon Jan 21, 2013 1:14 pm

150b sounds good and you can probably score one for about 150 bucks. issue with the 150b is wattage - not much
peace
-steve
myspace
steveonbass
Bouncer

Postby Rob Francis » Mon Jan 21, 2013 5:22 pm

Agreed! I used to front an act as a singer [smilie=vomit-smiley-007.gif] and the bass player used a 150 through a passive 360 cabinet that someone had made for him.
It kicked serious butt!
Rob Francis

Postby 57RIP » Mon Jan 21, 2013 11:16 pm

Played through a couple of the new combos... Was not impressed even a little. mixed a punk band who used the 8x10 monster for keyboard bass. I did everything I could to salvage some tone for the guy but I couldn't get over the top of the mids without killing people on the room. That setup was extremely loud but very mid rangey.

The new acoustic doesn't seem to have much in common with the old acoustic except baby blue accents...
I used to look at my dog Smokey and think, "If you were a little smarter, you could tell me what you're thinking," and he'd look back at me like he was saying, "If you were a little smarter, I wouldn't have to." - Fred Jungclaus
57RIP

Postby MickeyOne » Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:50 am

Saw Big bad Albert often in the 80's. Once I was up front, only a few feet from his Acoustic amp. Deafening!
MickeyOne

Postby Billhw13 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 9:00 am