Taylor AB -2

Taylor AB -2

Postby drbassman » Sat Sep 15, 2007 8:20 pm

I've been gassing for one of these for a couple years. Finally got one before they become more of a missing link.

I'm fixin' a hole where the rain gets in......
drbassman

Re: Taylor AB -2

Postby groovyw53 » Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:23 am

Wow that's awesome, I love the look of Taylors. I've always wanted to try one, but it's basically impossible to find 'em here in Italy.
Also on theTaylor website there's nothing about it and I don't know if Steve Klein now makes basses on his own http://www.kleinguitars.com/artthatsings.htm.

I've seen some great deals on eBay (under 1500$) but I'm not in the market for an acoustic right now.

And since I'm a big Chili Peppers fan, here's a video with Flea playing a Taylor (don't know if that's an AB-1 or AB-2 [smilie=coz.gif] ... I've read somewhere that the main difference between them is the sound).

[youtube][/youtube]
Last edited by groovyw53 on Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
"Going to the jungle where the elephant roams
Got to get away gonna make it my home"
groovyw53

Postby Mike Childree » Sun Sep 16, 2007 4:05 am

Those things ARE nice. I got one in a trade a few years back, but at the time didn't have a real use for it...it was more of a novelty. Love to find one now, though...I have gigs were it would be used extensively. The Tacoma I have is a nice bass, but not as refined as the Taylor.
Mike Childree
Bouncer

Postby drbassman » Sun Sep 16, 2007 4:44 am

Yeah, I had a Fender acoustic for a bit but it was not much to write home about. I've flirted with the Tacomas, but have always wanted an AB-2. The AB-1 has a more traditional spruce top, the 2 has Brazillian walnut and will have more projection and a more defined output/tone. I can't remember when, but Taylor discontinued all of the ABs in 2003 or so. They don't say on their website. I love collecting discontinued models so this one will be a keeper for sure!
drbassman