Pee Bass

Pee Bass

Postby FatherGino » Mon Oct 13, 2014 4:49 pm

I've been thumping away for 35+ years and I've never had a P.

What am I missing?

How much different would say a Duck Dunn P be than my 44-02 using just the Neck PU. Would my f**ked up ears even know the difference?

Would some super duper PU really make a difference?
There are two kinds of music, the good kind and the other kind. I like both.
FatherGino

Links: www.drivetime.us

Re: Pee Bass

Postby MickeyOne » Mon Oct 13, 2014 8:01 pm

I use P basses and their close relatives because they do one thing better.

They stake out that low mid sonic territory, just above the kick drum which seems to fit a lot of band situations.

It's a bread and butter thing which may be passe for you.
MickeyOne

Postby FatherGino » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:40 pm

I think I may be a poster child for passe.
FatherGino

Postby nolabass » Tue Oct 14, 2014 2:54 pm

Ya, I would agree. if you've never had one..... your ear didn't want one. Might be a waste of time. I use them because they are the foundation of roots music. Folks expect to see a P or J in blues, country, Americana and the like. I hear that low-mid punch in my head, so i play Ps.
~~~ ~ _@
~~ ~ _- \,
~~ (*)/ (*)

"Everything Is Oaks & Herbs, My Nerbs" Dr. John
nolabass
Global Bouncer

Postby FatherGino » Tue Oct 14, 2014 7:32 pm

What' this bass?

http://www.youtube.com/v/neZ6kMjDiG0

Nothing remarkable really but I dig the sound. Mellow & thick even in the higher notes and the lowest notes give the perception of very deep low notes. Flats on a P?
FatherGino

Postby nolabass » Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:55 pm

Ah Yes....that would be George Porter Jr. on that bass track. He may have been playing his single coil P but definitely flats. That low-mid bump works for flats like that.
Excellent taste my friend. [smilie=cool-smiley-031.gif]
~~~ ~ _@
~~ ~ _- \,
~~ (*)/ (*)

"Everything Is Oaks & Herbs, My Nerbs" Dr. John
nolabass
Global Bouncer