Cave Passive Pedals

Cave Passive Pedals

Postby aussiemark » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:45 pm

Guys, these are the pedals that I've been asked to test drive by the Australian manufacturer and help with R&D, so I'm basically an endorsed artist for these pedals. That said, I'm permitted to speak my mind about the finished products that are released to the public.

My recent review of the Cave Passive Pedals "Grunt" overdrive/boost pedal for bass certainly generated some spirited discussion on a number of forums. The Grunt has been on my pedal board for one gig, two rehearsals and a recording session so far, and I'm pleased to report that I'm still very happy with it. At the cover band gig I used the Grunt for the entire gig on the clean setting instead of a VT-Bass pedal, to give me a touch of grit whenever I dug in.

The second pedal that Cave sent me to test drive is the Octa-Bass, which is described at the Cave website ( http://www.cavepassivepedals.com.au/pro ... duct_id=71 ) in the following fashion - "This pedal gives your bass an “Octave Up” frequency or a sound similar to “Ring Modulators” if two or more notes are played simultaneously. A totally unique sound especially designed for the bass player."

Like the Grunt, the Octa-Bass arrived well presented in a hand crafted MDF box that is now standard with all Cave pedals. The Octa-Bass is built in the same powder coated gloss white aluminium Hammond enclosure as other pedals in the range, with just the one knob, labeled Depth.

I had incorrectly assumed that the Octa-Bass was going to give me an octave up as well as my original signal, similar to other bass octave pedals on the market. But the Octa-Bass is very different to what I expected - instead of adding an octave to my original sound, it replaces the original sound with an octave above, only. ie. the original frequency is removed.