Half Size Obsession.

Half Size Obsession.

Postby kennans » Mon Aug 29, 2011 9:04 pm

Anybody have any experience with half size uprights?

I see them in Mariachi bands a lot. I've seen Penn Jillette play one.

What's the scale length? How does the sound compare to a 3/4? Anything?
kennans
Road Dog

Re: Half Size Obsession.

Postby nolabass » Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:41 pm

Not a lot of info I can offer but the bass I gigged was labeled 3/4 and was smaller than other 3/4 basses. Luthiers thought is was closer to 1/2 scale. I liked it and felt it was only slightly longer scale than my electrics.....especially after I started playing 35" scale basses. It was less prone to feedback and very few people picked up on it's smallish size. Passed in the blues circles very well while I played it.
~~~ ~ _@
~~ ~ _- \,
~~ (*)/ (*)

"Everything Is Oaks & Herbs, My Nerbs" Dr. John
nolabass
Global Bouncer

Postby ilan » Tue Dec 06, 2011 7:02 am

I had a 1/2-size rental in the house for about two years for my son, who started playing upright at 11 and needed a smaller bass. It was a quality bass, with beautiful tone and plenty of bottom and volume for its size. German-made, fully carved instrument, sounded better than my full-size 50+ years old Romanian bass (also fully carved). Half-size basses typically have a 38" scale (full size is 40.5"-42"). But whenever I played it, it always felt too small. The strings felt too close, and the scale felt too short. When my son turned 13 that bass began to feel small for him too and he moved to full-size.

If you are interested in half-size because you feel it will be more comfortable to play, there are other parameters which are more important. Like sloping shoulders, for example.
A bad day of playing bass is still better than a good day of playing cello.
ilan

Postby Rob Francis » Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:38 am