What's your upright rig?

What's your upright rig?

Postby Eric B » Tue May 20, 2008 1:07 pm

As I mentioned in another thread I'm new to the upright bass... been hearing "more is less" when it comes to amplifying upright.

Now I'm using a Bassmax pickup into a Fishman Pro Platinum EQ/DI/Preamp into a Sunn 200S into an Avatar 2x10. It's just not cutting it, although it's almost there when I use the Sunn 2x15... but an upright and a sunn 2x15 cab is quite a load to carry to gigs.

What are you guys using?

I really thought going to upright would simplify things, but the opposite is true!

Now I truly realize what a great blessing the Pbass must have been at the time when they came out.
Eric B

Re: What's your upright rig?

Postby ghiadub » Tue May 20, 2008 1:51 pm

K&K Bridge/neck PU into a K&K two band mixer (the Bass Master RB PLUS) going into my GK 200MB. The GK has enough on the preamp to get decent volume.

I bought the upright to play Bluegrass acoustically so not a lot of thought or money has went into my rig.

I use the amp and pickup for the rare acoustic blues gig.
"Play the music, not the instrument"

Ghiadub Trio | Makosa | Campfire Crooners | Videos
ghiadub
Bouncer

Postby Freddels » Tue May 20, 2008 3:40 pm

NS Cleveland hybrid > Full Circle > iAmp500 > Wizzy 12 or Wizzy 10 or Epi UL110.
Freddels

Postby Mike Childree » Wed May 21, 2008 5:14 am

NS Cleveland ply-->Revolution Solo-->EBS Microbass II-->PA or
NS Cleveland ply-->Revolution Solo-->EA iAmp 800-->one or two EA Wizzy 1x12

What kind of music are you playing that requires a 2x15? Is it that you like the tone, or you need the volume? If volume is what you're after, then maybe you'd really be better off with an electric bass (unless it REALLY requires an URB, like a rockabilly thang). At high vols, you really need your rig optimized for feedback rejection...and that's gonna make your bass sound like poo acoustically.